The Four Noble Truths

  1. Life is suffering. (dukkha)
  2. Suffering is caused by craving and aversion. (samudaya)
  3. Suffering can be overcome and happiness can be attained. (nirhodha)
  4. The Noble Eightfold Path is the path which leads to the end of suffering. (magga)


The Noble Eightfold Path

  • Right View
  • Right Intention
  • Right Speech
  • Right Action
  • Right Livelihood
  • Right Effort
  • Right Mindfulness
  • Right Concentration


The Hindrances

  • Desire (towards a particular outcome or experience)
  • Ill Will (towards pain in leg)
  • Sloth and Torpor (drowsiness)
  • Restlessness (doing other things instead of meditation)
  • Doubt (doing it wrong)


The Five Precepts

  • Abstaining from taking life
  • Abstaining from taking what is not given
  • Abstaining from false speech
  • Abstaining from sexual misconduct
  • Abstaining from abusing intoxicants