Summer of Self-Improvement – AKA Summer of Unemploment

During this past spring, I gave my notice at my full time job, as I intended to move to Los Angeles in May.  Well, things happened, and the move was postponed indefinitely, but my replacement had been hired before the change in plans and so I found myself still living in Chicago and unemployed.

Rather than jump into another full time job immediately, as several have been placed in front of me, I decided to take a Monologue class that I have been trying to take for several years, which is only offered Monday afternoons.  I am searching for a part-time job and working as an extra to supplement my savings, but my days have been filled mostly with focusing on my own improvement and studies.  The goal is to focus on improving myself before I deal with the outside influences.

So, here are my daily tasks:
*Acting – I have lots to do with the monologues I am assigned in my class.  In addition, I am reading other plays in order to further build my knowledge of theater.
*Fitness – I am really cracking down on burning 1k calories more than I consume each day, and on building my strength back up.   I have a number of exercises I do throughout the day (cross jacks, torso twists, chest presses, shoulder flies, planks, plank with knee taps, Russian twists, leg raises, mountain climbers, squats, grips, and a few others I work in), plus walking/biking/hula hooping, and soccer on various days, and each night now I have been doing 30-90 minutes of cardio (Zumba mainly…my current full routine burns about 800 calories) depending on how many calories I have left to burn, and rotating through the four sections of my stretching routine.
*Reading – I am reading two books at once right now, one is Dune, as I am participating in an online Dune Reading Club, but it is only 5-10 pages a day.  The other book is up to me.  Last week I read four books and started on a fifth, generally reading 50 or so pages a night.
*Crash Course – I have posted before about Crash Course on YouTube, a channel that does short lessons on various subjects.  I am trying to do at least one lesson a week right now, but I want to work up to two to three.
*Italian – I am watching one Italian show per day (currently children’s cartoons), and reading a chapter a day in an Italian book (currently Pinocchio).  As I rebuild my vocabulary, I will work my way up to more difficult shows and texts.  I might start working on DuoLingo again, though I have finished the Italian course once, so I needed more.  Perhaps I will reinstall Rosetta Stone and see how far that gets me.
*Cleaning – All of my belongings were staged in the garage for my move, so now I need to start moving them back down to the basement.  At my current rate, I should be done by mid-September, though I am going faster than scheduled.  I also need to go through things, reorganize, pack loose items, sort through my to sell/donate pile, and generally condense everything.
*Meditation – I am meditating at least twice a day right now, but I would like to get back up to three or four as I was doing before last summer.
*Blogs – I am trying to get back on schedule with this blog, as well as two of my other blogs: Death by Chocolate (a chocolate blog), and Deciphering Lolita (a Lolita blog).  I currently have blog ideas into October for DbC and this blog, I just need to do that for DL now.  The biggest thing for this blog is choosing a new name, as I would like to change things over with the one year anniversary coming up in two weeks.  I have a few ideas, though nothing that I really love.  I might have to find someone to bounce my ideas off of for an impartial opinion.

So there is what I have been up to this summer.  I apologize for lack of posts, but I have needed to do a lot of soul searching.  I also had to remind myself that ultimately, I am writing this blog for me, and that people are not always going to agree with my opinions.  More on that later though.

Leave a Reply

