The Definitive Jedi Timeline of Destiny Froste

Here is my timeline in the Jedi community based on old posts (ezboard, livejournal, myspace, facebook…this is what numbers/links in parenthesis reference) and memory.  This will be updated as I uncover more dates and information.

1999 – Exact Date Unknown – likely in the late summer/early autumn…before October
First joined online Jedi Community

Sometime in late 1999/early 2000
Blue Group forms at the Jedi Temple.

2000, November 08th
Wrote “What is Sex?”

2001, April 11th
Created Global EZBoard Account

2002, July 20th
Meet first Jedi in person – Mijan

2002, July 22nd-26th
First ever offline Jedi Gathering in Great Falls, MT (with Opie, Alora, Mijan, Manna, Mindas)

2002, November 18th (http://tju75026.yuku.com/topic/874/Welcome#.V6n_fqKo3ag)
Temple of the Jedi Order (TJO) officially opens

2006, September 22nd (171220966)
Also, next week is:
First Chicago Jedi meeting – Not sure if I am going.  I tried to suggest we do something fun for the first meeting to break the ice, but instead we are meeting at a borders in Chicago, right around rush hour…yeah…I really do not feel like fighting rush hour traffic just to go sit and talk about who knows what.  Plus, it is the same day as the Study Abroad stuff and I might not get out of NIU on time.  Oh well…I will see how I feel on Thursday I guess.

2006, October 27th (185681658)
Yesterday was the second official Chicago Jedi Chapter meeting, but only Angelus and I were able to attend (it was at his house).  We talked about a whole bunch of random stuff, did a little energy work and then talked about the Tri-State meeting next month.  I am really looking forward to that.  He showed me a way to test the strength of your chakras, and apparently my Solar Plexus, Heart and Throat Chakras are weak right now.  I am trying to find my Chakra notes that I put together years ago, but to no avail.  I wonder what I did with them…  Its sad there are only three of us around here that can ever get together.  Some of the other Chapters have about 5-7 members.  That thought got us talking about the gatherings and everything…ah nostalgia.

2006, November 12th (192513882)
JEDI TRI-STATE CHAPTER MEETING

The meeting on Saturday went rather well.  There were seven of us total; three from Kentucky, one from Indiana (unless you count Tiger and her daughter, but they were on their own most of the time), and three from Illinois.  The weather was horrid and cold and only became worse as the day went on.  The first thing we did after we all arrived was eat, however since it was so cold no one ate all that much and we had a lot of food left over.  After eating, Andy taught sword basics.  Mostly footwork and basic strikes.  We did that for several hours.  The next thing we did was energy work, and Manna led us through basic energy sensing exercises.  During the first exercise we were just suppose to be sensing energy between our hands.  Manna went through each one of us one by one telling us how we did and when she got to me she blinked and said “Des, you created an energy ball.”  Oops :D.  Through all the rest of the exercises she told me I was always emitting a lot of energy and she told me I would be good at reiki.  Never really looked into it, guess it would not hurt to check it out.  After that the guys did some sparing and more fencing work.  Mabius and I did a slight bit of sparing…started just goofing around and ended abruptly so it was nothing dramatic, but that was really the first time I had ever done it.  At the end Angelus led us through a Shamanic Journey Meditation.  Most everyone else had rather positive experiences however mine was rather disturbing and upsetting.

In my vision, I was in a cavern covered in jewels (like a mine with them growing out of the walls).  The jewels were all very vibrant and were all kinds of different colors.  When I looked closely at the jewels, they either contained or were reflecting, different sides of my personality, each color showed a different side.  At first, I just looked at the stones in wonder…but then I had the feeling I was being told that I had to make a choice, that I had to chose one of my many personalities and focus on that one side of me and ignore the others.  Then, deeper in the cavern I saw a large opal.  As I walked towards it, I had the feeling that it was telling me that I did not have to chose, that I could be like an opal and contain many different colors all in one existence.  However, almost immediately it was as if the jewels were shouting over the opal.  It drove me insane and I began to cry hysterically and I started breaking all the jewels, hitting them off the walls and trying to destroy them.  Eventually I stopped and fell to my knees, still crying, but more calm.  I picked up a hand full of the dust on the ground which was what remained of the shattered jewels.  Then, Angelus pulled us out, and instead of walking out, it was as if something grabbed me around the waist and pulled me out of the cave.  When I opened my eyes, they were filled with tears and my contacts were dry and blurred as if I had been crying for a long time.  I still do not feel as if there was closure to what the vision was telling me, and it has left me very confused.

When we left the park, we went to eat and talk.  I did not tell my vision to anyone until Angelus, Mabius and I were back in the car on the way home.  They were not sure what it meant either, and only came to the conclusion that I was dealing with a lot right now.  The car ride home was fun.  I felt more connected to them, but even though, I remember thinking that it was nothing like the connection I felt at the Montana Gathering.  Granted, the Montana Gathering was several days long, but it just seemed as if there was something stronger then.  During the car ride I through out all sorts of random questions, (If you could pick one fictional character to represent you who would it be?, If you could not live in America where would you live?, things like that) and we even discussed dreams briefly.

2007, January 15th (http://destinyfroste.livejournal.com/223510.html)
Saturday was the Jedi chapter meeting…Mabius could not go so it was just Angelus and I. We went to a Chicago Forest Preserve and did Tai Chi and attempted to do a little shinai work. We did not last too long on the shinai’s because it was freezing and I could no longer feel my fingers. Then we sat in his car and did a Shamonic (sp?) journey. This time helped to explain the discord in my last journey and confirmed the necessity of studying abroad for me. From there we went to borders for a while to kill time. Then we went back to Angelus’ place for his birthday party.

2007, March 19th (242988014)
Had the March Chapter meeting on Saturday, though only Angelus and I showed up.  I found out that Mabius is apparently moving to Colorado, so now we are down to two.  Angelus said there is one Jedi up in Madison, which if we meet out by me it would be closer for her, but he does not seem overly enthusiastic for that idea.  There are supposedly two more Jedi in Chicago that Angelus does not have the e-mails for yet, as well as a Jedi down in Champaigne.  Hopefully our numbers can grow a little.  Just two little Jedi is very sad and lonely.  We did some sparing and meditation on Saturday and then talked about other stuff including the fact that the next Tri-State meeting will be up in Chicago.

2007, April 27th (http://destinyfroste.livejournal.com/234503.html & http://destinyfroste.livejournal.com/234289.html)
After I finished that, I did a little Jedi surfing. As I expected…not much hope inducing evidence out there. I finished with that and now I am bored.

Speaking of Japan, you know what I dreamed last night? I dreamed that instead of me doing this teach english in Japan thing alone, a few Jedi decided to do it with me. We each worked for a different program and in our free time we were taking martial arts classes and going to ancient temples and such. It was nice. Not going to happen, but that is why you dream, ne?
***
You see, every time I return to any one of the Jedi sites I use to frequent, they are either dead, or the people there are engaging in the same stale debates and discussions that were being breached when I joined the community back in 1999. Even when I find within myself the patience to either deal with these discussions or to ignore them and only focus on the relevant topics, I lose interest because of the general demeanor of those frequenting the sites.

Yet, I miss it all. But I miss it all as it once was. I feel as though there is a calling within me, telling me that I need to return, but how? There is a large part of me that wants to return to the sites, but from how long I have been gone, I would not know where to start. To be quite honest, I do not even know which sites are active anymore, and it is quite a timely matter to go through every forum on my favorites list just to check for regular current activity. Then, it would be like starting all over. At this point, few remember me I am sure. And do I have the strength to start over from scratch?

I still have everything from when I wanted to set up the training facility on my site. In fact…the folders containing the training information is right behind my head…I think I am leaning against them. I wish I could say I am still planning on uploading all of it, but I am discouraged for two reasons. Firstly, I am so busy. I cannot even say I will do it during summer break, because I am taking two semesters of summer school and I am traveling a lot. The second reason, is that what good would it do. One cannot create a movement. Almost every Jedi I once trusted are gone and even if they were still around, they have their own ideas. We are all scattered with our own concepts of what the Jedi should be that we will never successfully create a stable community. It hurts sometimes to think, that had I moved, I could have been in such close proximity to at least two other Jedi. True, I had Angelus and Mabius here for a while (Mabius recently moved), but I have no connection to them. I meet with them, we work together, and I get along with them fine, but we are on different frequencies. That is all the Jedi community has become…a whole myriad of different frequencies.

What I would not give to discover a community that relights that passion I had when I first joined. The excitement when I was first taken as a Padawan. The anticipation of receiving my new lessons. The drive and desire that let me to check the boards as religiously as I do my e-mail. Granted, I must find motivation within myself, but how can one be motivated by a community that is simply running around on a hamster wheel?

2007, May 16th (http://destinyfroste.livejournal.com/239836.html)
Texas…ah Texas. It is looking as though I will have to fly out of Houston instead of San Antonio. This means a slightly higher car rental as well as gas between Houston and San Antonio and a 3 hour drive each way. I am taking the bus out of Rockford tomorrow morning at 7am, so I am going to still try and make the first flight into San Antonio…after that I will try for Houston. As much as I am looking forward to the trip, I am dreading it. It is becoming such a hassle between the flights and the Sunday/Austin situation. Travelling is always such a hassle and I have to repeat the process three days after I return home. The flights to LAX are not looking very good for next week. Watch me not make it to CIV. *sigh* Oh well, I wanted to go somewhere and this is what I get. Damn you United for cutting down on flights. If you would just add one more to each destination I would be happy.

2007, May 20th
Trip to Austin to meet with Texas Jedi

2007, August 14th (299275304)
The Illinois Chapter meeting was on Saturday, it was only Angelus and I again.  Aparently though, we are getting another Jedi who is moving from New York next month.  He owns a Martial Arts school in New York and plans on opening one here too.  He told Angelus that we will be able to use it, so that means we have an indoor location for winter/bad weather meetings AND we have a member that has more knowledge in Martial Arts.  I am still holding my judgment until I meet him in person though, there are a lot of BS Martial Artists out there, but I remain hopeful.  We are also looking at having the Tri-State meeting in October, possibly the weekend of my birthday.  Looks like it will be more than Tri-State though, as there may be Jedi coming in from Ohio and Minnesota.  It seems like there are more Jedi in Michigan as well now, so I am going to suggest inviting them as well.

MARTIAL ARTS:
Speaking of Martial Arts, I signed my contract with AFTA on Wednesday.  I owe $69 for this month.  I finally found out what AFTA stands for and it suprised me, American Freestyle Tae Kwon Do Academy.  I know Joel has his black belt in Tae Kwon Do, but seriously, what we learn in class does not look like any Tae Kwon Do school I ever went to.  And it does not seem Joel even thinks of it as Tae Kwon Do…he discribed it as a type of Karate one day.  I guess you have to call it something though and he probably has some affiliation with the school he trained at.  The school flooded last week so there was no class Tuesday.  I had to miss that day and felt guilty but I guess I did not have to.  I went today only to realize that today was a testing day, so no class.  I spoke to Joel about the weapons class and even he said he suggests waiting until you have been with the school about two months.

2007, August 15th (http://destinyfroste.livejournal.com/250553.html)
While driving home from class, Heather called me.  Devil, get out your winter coat…she finally checked out my forum with the Jedi stuff.  She said she was very impressed and that Brandel would be too.  I told her to feel free to give him the password to the protected forum.  She also said that he would be more than willing to give me my trials when I am ready, all I have to do is ask.  That is good to know.  Anyhow…with the site, we talked about who would teach, and credibility.  We also talked about when it should open.  It looks like it would open with both Heather and I still in training…which would suck for the instruction side of things because neither of us will be qualified to teach.  It will be about another year (so two from now) for me and three (four from now) for Heather…pending that we both pass the trails the first time.  I might just have it open generally for the first year to gain interest though, which would mean when it opens I can teach.  I would say it could open sooner and Brandel could teach if we get him on board, but he is very strict about only teaching one student at a time.  Thing is, the beginning would not really be the training, just the preliminary/intro stuff.  After completing classes the students would still have to train with a Master…which could also prove difficult at the beginning.  I think I would like all Jedi to pass Brandel’s trials, though I do not know quite how he would feel about it.  Plus…how many could at this point…I guess though by the time the first group is out, we will be talking 2012/2013, Brandel is qualified, and Heather and I will hopefully be qualified and maybe a few others, so maybe it wont be too bad.  We also talked about the old days of the Jedi.  Apparently a big split that happened while we were there is known as the big Jedi Purge to some newer hopefuls.  We both found that amusing.  We talked about the Montana Gathering.  I said it would be great if WE could host another gathering…when I say WE, I mean the original gathering people…Heather, Me, Opie, Mijan if she ever came back, Manna, Mindas if he were interested.  I think it would just be crazy to have the originals step back in…same as I would like all the original Jedi to come back to the sites.  Will it happen…probably not…a girl can dream though, can’t she?

We were going to log into WoW, but got too caught up in talking.  I was almost in tears with some of the stuff we discussed.  Yeah…Michigan came up again.  For a while, I could not figure out why this is still coming up three years later, but I realized something.  I did not really talk to any of them for those three years…so the air never cleared.  I started talking with Opie again after a year ago…but we do not talk like we used to and judging by how our characters in WoW tend to bump heads constantly we probably never will, so there was never a chance to really talk through things with him.  Mindas has only said about 20 words to me online since then.  Heather and I started talking a little while ago, but we are just gradually getting back to the way we were and a lot of stuff is coming into the open.  I am just now getting the chance to talk about Michigan and it is really very helpful.  I am really glad I have her as a friend, she makes me feel better about my decision not to move and in general is just there for me.  She even said no matter what that she will be there for me.  Thanks Heather, I will try to stop being depressed so you stop picking up on my moods and can stop being depressed 😉  The Three Amigas *laugh* I am going to send Mijan an e-mail.

2007, October
Tri-State Gathering in Chicago, IL

2008, March 19th (http://destinyfroste.livejournal.com/286347.html)
I was up until almost 5:30 am last night with Jedi business.  Stupid, yes.  I am a zombie today and I missed my first to classes.  More on that in a second.  We only got through my questions and then half of the next persons before we decided we needed to finish it at another date.  Currently we will be finishing on next Friday night/Saturday morning…the night before Blue Harbor.  Should be fun driving up to bumble, WI after not sleeping.  I will have to nap after school that day or head up to WI before the meeting…I will see what happens.

2009, July 16th (http://destinyfroste.livejournal.com/405384.html)
I must make note, that THE Braid…yeah…you know the one…has come out. Ten years are complete. I earned a Green Belt in MMA and was told by many of my peers that I was very good, very fast. I survived for four months in a foreign country. I could by food and other necessities and hold some conversations. I might not be able to jump into fluent speech, but I can make due. I might not TECHNICALLY have my degree, but I walked, and I have met all the requirements for my BA, WITH honors. Ten years is up, and I feel as though I am only just beginning, but I think that is the biggest lesson of the training. Just because the official “training” period is up, does not mean I am done learning, it only means I have the basics and I must continue from here. I am not sure if I will take a student any time soon…eventually though. The best way to learn is to teach after all. Only the future will tell.

2016, June 29th
Officially join Jedi Living as Destiny Froste (previously there under aliases)

2016, August 3rd
Pre-Gathering Dinner

2016, August 4th-7th
National Jedi Gathering at Stronghold Caste; Oregon, IL.

Leave a Reply

